Dr. Claudia Mewes received 2016 President’s Faculty Research Award














Professor Claudia Mewes of Physics Department has received the “2016 President’s Faculty Research Award”.

Read the rest of this entry »

Dr. Arun Gupta received 2016 Burnum Distinguished Faculty Award

arun burnum award

Professor Arun Gupta of Chemistry and Chemical Biological Department has received the “2016 Burnum Distinguished Faculty Award”   

For more details

Dr. Claudia Mewes received NSF Career Award

This Faculty Early CAREER award funds theoretical research to investigate the static and dynamic magnetization properties in spintransport electronic (short: spintronic) devices. Spintronics aims to use the electron spin in addition to its electric charge to develop highly functional and energy efficient devices. In this context a better fundamental understanding of the involved magnetic properties within the confined device setting is of paramount importance for a widespread adoption of spintronic technologies. Especially the complicated interplay of different material parameters and their modifications are essential for the performance of new spintronic devices, including their scalability and efficiency.


IEEE Magnetics Society’s 2015 Achievement Award Recipient: Professor Takao Suzuki

IEEE Achievement Award 4 (May 13 2015)

Each year the IEEE Magnetics Society honours one of its outstanding members for his or her lifetime professional achievement. This is the highest award of the Society and is given for scientific achievements, technical achievements and service to the Society. The award is presented at the INTERMAG conference each year, and consists of a diploma with citation and a cash prize.

Professor Takao Suzuki receives the 2015 Achievement Award for “contributions to the micromagnetics of materials with high magnetocrystalline anisotropy and their applications in magnetic recording media. “

Professor Suzuki received his B.S. and M.S. in Applied Physics from Waseda University, Japan in 1962 and 1964, respectively, and Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from the California Institute of Technology in 1969. He worked as a postdoctoral fellow at the Max Planck Institute in Stuttgart, Germany from 1969 through 1972, and then served as an assistant professor and associate professor at Tohoku University in Sendai, Japan from 1972 through 1988. From 1988 through 1995, he worked as a research staff member at the IBM Almaden Research Center in San Jose, California. In 1995, Dr. Suzuki joined Toyota Technological Institute in Nagoya, Japan where he was Vice President and a principal professor until 2010. Professor Suzuki currently holds the position of Endowed Chair, Director for Center for Materials for Information Technology (MINT Center), and Professor of the Electrical and Computer Engineering, and Metallurgical and Materials Engineering at University of Alabama in Tuscaloosa, Alabama, U.S.A. He also is the Director for the International Consortium for “Rare-earth free permanent magnets sustainable for the next generation” sponsored by the G8 national councils.

In his early career (the 1960s through the 1980s), Prof. Suzuki worked on magnetization distributions including domain walls, ripple structures and vortex in thin films mainly by Lorentz electron microscopy. From the 1970s through the 1990s, he worked on rare earths-transition metal amorphous thin films for magneto-optical recording media applications. From the 1980s through the present, he has been working on high magnetic anisotropy materials of various types. He was the first to experimentally show the strong correlation of the magnetic anisotropy of the ordered phase L1o (Fe-Co-Ni)Pt alloy thin films with the number of valence electrons. In the early 2000s, he and his group for the first time experimentally realized the Fe3Pt alloy thin films that exhibit a very high magnetic anisotropy of the order of 107erg/cc at room temperature. He was one of the IEEE Magnetics Society Distinguished Lecturers in 2007 on the topics of “High Magnetic Anisotropy Materials.” Most recently, he is working on rare-earth free high magnetic anisotropy materials.

Professor Suzuki has received awards including the Society Award of the Magnetics Society of Japan (2010), IEEE Magnetics Society Distinguished Lecturer (2007), and the Technical Achievement Award of the Magnetics Society of Japan (1999).

Professor Suzuki was the president of the IEEE Magnetics Society with the term of 2011-12, and IEEE Fellow. He is Professor Emeritus of Toyota Technological Institute and has published more than 300 scientific papers in peer review journals, four books, and holds 17 patents licensed in the U.S.A., Japan, and other countries.

Professor Suzuki joins a distinguished list of past recipients: Fred Luborsky (1981), Herb Storm (1982), Harold Lord (1984), Joe Suozzi (1985), Fritz Friedlaender (1986), Andrew Bobeck (1987), Floyd Humphrey (1988), Paul Biringer (1989), Daniel Gordon (1990), Emerson Pugh (1991), Yoshifumi Sakurai (1992), William Doyle (1993), Richard Barker (1994), Mark Kryder (1995), Koosuke Harada (1996), Gordon Slemon (1997), Stan Charap (1998), Dave Thompson (1999), Denis Mee (2000), Fred Hagedorn (2001), Sun-ichi Iwasaki (2002), Carl Patton (2003), Yutaka Sugita (2004), Robert Fontana (2005), Neal Bertram (2006), John C. Mallinson (2007), Jack H. Judy (2008), Roger Wood (2009), Isaak Mayergoyz (2010), Jian- Gang (Jimmy) Zhu (2011), John Slonczewski (2012), Michael Mallary (2013) and Randy Victora (2014).