The MINT Center is an interdisciplinary research organization. Graduate students work toward advanced degrees with faculty advisors in any one of seven different academic programs while doing research in the MINT Center. A brief description of the degree programs and associated faculty is given below.

The Department of Chemical Engineering has 15 faculty and about 200 undergraduate and 20 graduate students. The B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. degrees are offered. Many of our current research topics focus on environmental protection technology. Duane Johnson, Tonya Klein, Arun Gupta and John Wiest are developing pollution-free tape coating processes and studying the control and characterization of magnetic colloids (paints) through the MINT Center.

The Department of Chemistry offers M.S. and Ph.D. programs in analytical, inorganic, physical, organic, as well as biochemistry. The department has 20 faculty members and is located in Lloyd Hall. Major research instrumentation and facilities include multinuclear NMR (both 360 and 500 MHz), EPR and ENDOR, GC-mass spectrometer, X-ray diffraction, FTIR and Raman spectrometers, and Molecular Modeling Laboratories. Research interests in the department include natural products synthesis, protein structure and function, molecular electronics and imaging, nanoparticles, tape binder chemistry, and tribochemistry.. Martin Bakker, Silas Blackstock, Lowell Kispert, Robert Metzger, David Nikles, Shane Street, Arun Gupta and Greg Szulczewski are actively involved in research projects in the Center.

The Department of Electrical Engineering has 13 faculty members. There are approximately 350 students enrolled in the undergraduate program. The graduate program offers research opportunities and advanced degrees for students in the areas of electromagnetics and materials, power systems, communications and controls, and computer engineering. In addition to the facilities provided by the MINT program, the department provides well-equipped laboratories in the following areas: electric power and machines, electromagnetics, wireless communications, and computer architecture.  R.K. Pandey is actively involved in the Center.

Materials Science Ph.D. Program. Materials scientists are interested in the generation and application of knowledge of the chemical composition, micro- and macrostructures, uses and properties (chemical, physical, and mechanical), and processing of materials. The study of materials is a broad discipline that includes both science and engineering. At The University of Alabama, this program is supported by departments in both the College of Arts and Sciences and the College of Engineering. These departments include Chemistry, Chemical Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Metallurgical & Materials Engineering, and Physics & Astronomy. Faculty members from these departments who participate in the Materials Science Ph.D. Program, as well as the MINT program, are: Chester Alexander, J. W. Harrell, Lowell Kispert, Gary Mankey, David Nikles, Rainer Schad, Shane Street, Pieter Visscher, Garry Warren, Mark Weaver, and John Wiest.

The Department of Mathematics offers programs leading to the Master of Arts and the Doctor of Philosophy degrees. The department has 28 faculty members.  It offers courses in the following areas: algebra and number theory, analysis, topology, differential equations, mathematical methods for engineering, numerical analysis, mathematical statistics, fluid dynamics and optimization theory. Min Sun is involved with research in the MINT Center.

The Department of Metallurgical and Materials Engineering consists of seven full-time faculty members and two adjunct faculty. It offers B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees. The department has a well regarded undergraduate program with close links to the metal casting and processing industries. The graduate program has international stature and active research programs in diverse areas including solidification science, materials processing, microstructural evolution, corrosion and electrochemistry, welding, mechanical behavior of ceramics, tribological and mechanical properties of thin films and coatings, and magnetic thin films. The department has approximately 40 graduate students supported by research/teaching assistantships and in excess of $1 million annually in external research funding from NSF, NASA, DOE and industrial sponsors. Two faculty members from the Department of Metallurgical and Materials Engineering –  Mark Weaver, Greg Thompson, Garry Warren, and Su Gupta – are involved in research with the MINT Center.

The Department of Physics and Astronomy offers B.S, M.S., and Ph.D. degrees in physics and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in physics with an astronomy specialization. The department has 23 faculty members. Essentially all graduate students are fully supported by either teaching assistantships, research assistantships or fellowships. In addition to magnetic materials research within the MINT program, other research areas in the department include astronomy and astrophysics, experimental and theoretical high energy physics, theoretical atomic and molecular physics, laser physics and theoretical solid state physics. The department has well-equipped and well-staffed machine and electronics shops, which also lend support the the MINT Center. Departmental faculty who participate in the MINT program include Chester Alexander, Hideo Fujiwara, J.W. Harrell, Gary Mankey, Rainer Schad,  Pieter Visscher, Patrick LeClair, and Tim Mewes.